Why I Love Sherlock

BBC has once again gone above my expectations with a television show. I’ve been watching Sherlock since it came out and went through the agonizingly long wait period with all the other fans. But despite that horrible wait, Sherlock is worth it.

Every single episode, unknown to (in my opinion) too many of the people who watch it, is based on a story by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. 

A Scandal in Belgravia corresponds with “A Scandal in Bohemia”. A Study in Scarlet is the original “A Study in Pink”. The title of “Hound of the Baskervilles” remains primarily the same. The Reichenbach Fall is a reference to Reichenbach falls where the original Sherlock Holmes fell into the waterfall whilst pursuing Moriarty in the book “His Final Bow”, which was then played upon in the episode His Final Vow.
BBC, you are so clever. Characters, situations, and conversations in the television series mirror those in the books so closely and so well. Being the little detective that I am (with my deep love of forensic science, using deduction, and trying to figure out the end before it happens) it was the perfect show. Is the perfect show and I cannot wait for Season 4. Hopefully this one will be out before 2018. 

Leave a comment