All The Not-As-Lonely People

I don’t dislike Valentine’s Day. I think it’s a really cute holiday that gives people the chance to show their love in a large and fantastic way that is generally given awkward looks by society. But today, today it’s alright.

I’ve never really had a GOOD Valentine’s Day before, since I haven’t been in a serious relationship (let’s not mention last year, it was bad…). So instead of moping over the fact that nobody will be kissing me today, I’ve been listening to Eleanor Rigby repeatedly and thinking about all the wonderful times I’m going to have as an adult. How many years do I have? Lots of them. 

Valentine’s Day is a day made to appreciate EVERYONE that you love, not just significant others. I’ve been handing out Valentine cards and receiving them, knowing that I’m cared about. It’s kind of a great feeling. 

I don’t think of V-Day as a day to be sad about the fact that I’m single. I don’t take up arms against the church, love, or the card companies. I don’t brace my single self with cynicism about a holiday I’m not technically taking part in. I just enjoy wearing red and having friends to spend time with. Because I love them and they love me and that’s the whole point, isn’t it? We’re really not as lonely as we’d like to pretend.

Leave a comment